Little things…

14 Feb

Day 2 starts of way better as the little things make it. Got a newspaper into my hotel room and a really nice hot shower. The Indians are a funny folk, for one they seem either helpful or else not understanding. On the drive up to Arambol there where two boys walking side by side on one lane of a busy street where they could not be overtaken. Only after what seemed a very long time one of them looked back without showing any emotion on his face and continued walking. Overall they’re a nice folk I sometimes maybe even like them too much. Here now I experience the commerce again and what it makes out of people. It’s funny how I always befriend the locals when I am at places like this. The cute seven year old girl letting me promise 5 times that later I would look her shop and then I bought her a pepsi. Of course that was not enough, she needed to make some money, I couldn’t say no. Bargaining hard I could tell she was not that happy afterwards. I don’t mind them, not really. It is so that I feel obliged to spend some money in the local economy. It seems the least I can do, fretting over the inability to really do something to make things better. They have gotten worse actually. Now even the hippies have become commercialized, selling their hand made jewelry, healing oils, or travelling hammocks. The market you can find every day at the traditional creative people sunset gathering in Arambol. I could have cried when I saw this, I was sooo cool when I was there last time, free spirits gathering for celebration of life. But when there are more spectators than dancers, the event becomes meaningless sucked out a comedy. This called the comedy of the hippies of goa.

Arambol beach directly has now been overtaken fully by the Russians, 3 rows of sunbeds decorating the once so solemn beach. Again I was close to throwing up when I saw this. Further down to Marnem where I am, it is still just some little shacks with some sunbeds each, though it goes on now endlessly along the mile long beaches. The German Bakery seems no more, luckily Pacha still is. Already met some old friends, and new ones. The Pacha’s regaled by a Nepali family,  grandparents and all. Language is a real subject, so many languages spoken – again! Everywhere it is likes this. The Indigenous tribes having their own local dialects, and mostly a common language of the conquistadores per country, speaking it more or less according to their social status. Everywhere in the world! I tried to learn a bit Hindi but it is ah so difficult for me. Like for them English! Wow but they try, no shame anymore when they are out there and it is good. They have a right to take part in the world as well. Mostly the tribes have been tattered, intact societies only to be found rarely, the young wanting to go to the big cities. And there survival suddenly means something completely different from the village farm… alright I am diverting here into difficult terrain and strain thoughts, wonder what they might be;) So- the Hindi I learned rather easily is: “Makka Nakka”.  It means, I don’t want, or I don’t need anything. Very useful!

Namaste
YMT

5 Responses to “Little things…”

  1. Tina February 14, 2012 at 1:11 PM #

    “makka nakka” thank you for that ! ……………made my day and I don´t “need” more than these “little things” but there was a lot more to come today OMG X

  2. soulnature February 16, 2012 at 9:08 AM #

    It seems like your life is giving you some Big Things here my dear! 21 Gratitudes…

  3. bank głosow March 6, 2012 at 4:56 PM #

    Hey guys vast post.

  4. uk odszkodowanie March 7, 2012 at 10:42 AM #

    they are great

  5. wypadek w uk March 8, 2012 at 11:50 PM #

    Hey this is truly cool…so genuinely and so beautifully said…well done !

Tell Me what You think

