the story of my life

28 Jan

Hello my dear two readers and a belated happy new year to You !

Since I seem not be getting around to write a proper article and since this Blog should be about Change, i.e. how to change (myself, yourself, the world, … you name it;)  I would like to look back at the last year and publicly list what I changed and what I didn’t, like a honest but friendly mirror.

Set up my new webpage
After 3 years considering the idea, finally it is ON! at least the design 😉 content will be added as I make up my new life!!! check it out at www.soulnature.ch

Write a blog
My thinking tended to: why should I write a blog while there are millions out there already? what is my contribution to meaningful free information on the internet? Well, part of my finally daring to go out there is my long lasting desire to become a writer (yes, I said it!) And the new media DOES have lots of opportunities if one knows how to leverage them… for now this is a personal story and travel blog an it IS out there, yeah!

Save money and quit my job
This is a looong story… For 10 years working I’ve not managed to save a dime 😦 Living my life, financing alternative education, travelling, partying and a very nice apartment I thought I could never get out off considering all the (meaningless) stuff I’d acquired, the (dreadful) costs repairing the damage done to it, the convenience of allowing my cat to walk outdoors and me growing my own plants and last but not least because of zero availability of free apartments in my city of choice.  But Zurich is changing as the rest of the world is and there IS movement going on. Gratefully destiny helped out! In early 2010 it came about that my employer couldn’t afford expensive offices in the city center anymore and I had to go work way out of town by the airport my commute becoming unbearable. This gave me the strength and desire to search for an apartment switch which indeed happened about 15 month ago. Since then, for the first time in my life, I have been able to accumulate some money. This is an ambivalent thing for me as I don’t belive in the future of cash as we know it, while I am desperately aware of how nothing is going to work in this world without the blessing of money… My new small and cheap place is enough for me. But my dear cat is growing uneasy that is why she will go into her retirement soon living with my sister in her new house. My travelling budget might last of a year only but hopefully more like two years without working. This obviously depending on my ability to stretch it and live a simple life. Which is exactly what I intend to do, even though the prospect still terrifies me…

Quitting my job (after 5 years with the company and 15 years with the industry) has not happened yet BUT I will do so in March, having to work until June 2012. This IS someTHING !!! Just now I am deeply troubled, because I have to live a lie and this doesn’t sit well with me as I am by nature a very honest person unable to hide my feelings (one of the main reasons why this kind of job is NOT for me). But this is how the business works, for just another two month  (one of which I am on vacation lucky me…) I have to pretend to be fully committed but really don’t care anymore. This really sucks. But it will pass. And there is just NO way I am going to change my mind. I cannot willnot darenot wishnot continue my life as it is. Good thing will happen!

Go travelling
Other good news 😀 Last year I have made a pilgrimage to Mayapan – the Maya country.  I went to Guatemala, Yucatan and Chiapas. Learning spanish while staying with a lovable family and then visiting 11 Maya temples in two weeks in total focus of finding love and transformation which I did!!! I’ve also been to England several times last year for my studies at the www.schoolofmovementmedicine.com and further pleasurable visits to places of power like Glastonbury which I enjoy more every time I go there. All this rounded up in 2011 with a good friends wedding taking place in the Spanish Balearian Island of Ibiza. An island long known for it’s hippie and party history, where I spent a couple of mesmerizing weeks back in my late teenage years… Dangerous place for me to be but lots of fun too to be sure! And this positive story continues as I head off to India tomorrow… you’ll hear from me on that one;)

Stop smoking and drinking
After so much good news guess there as to be a draw back. Addiction management has ever been my greatest challenge. Tobacco is a holy plant. And I misuse it. The short time I managed without it last year was deeply inspiring, but it has been my best friend the last 16 years and quitting is really hard 😦 This will need some deeper exploring like a purge/dieta with the Tobacco plant in the Amazonian rainforest, something I intend to do this year!!! It also worries me that by now again I am substituting alcohol for the usage of mind or emotion altering drugs and I must addmit I think I do have a bit of a problem here. I mean I don’t need it but I like it and it can get pretty messy. I go weeks on end without and then back again to the old habits. In the healing process this is normal though, one has to do a new thing a 1000 times to change the patterns in the brain and I am working on it but sometimes it seems there are just too many partys going on (3 of them I didn’t drink…) So continues my soul searching consciousness raising personal healing process.

Get fit and lose weight
Another ambivalent but fairly positive story!!! I could actually write a whole Blog on my diet and fitness insights but I figured I would not bore anyone on what information is already in the web if you just look for it! To be sure, loosing weight is no easy thing!!! Especially for somebody like me who was always a bit cheruby and having gone through several yoyo effects due to bad regimes I ended up severely (25kg) overweight just a year ago.  I’ve lost 16kg (35lbs) since last April and this is approximately a healthy 2kg per month which gives me a real chance to keep it and continue the way down slowly but surely. Exercise alone will never do the trick while you eat crap. Dieting hard without exercising will just throw you back sooner than later. Combining the two, as everybody should know, is the trick. But how exactly? I make it short for you if you want to follow it as I really think I’ve figured it out for myself with try and error, but note that one recipe doesn’t fit all. But still, here we go
– Eat all your healthy carbohydrates (no sugar & processed grains) in the morning = sprouted grains, oatmeal, fruits
– to loose weight just loads of vegis, salad & lean meat for lunch and dinner, adding some nuts as a snack, and lentils and beans for variation
– eat healthy fats, like nuts and avocados
– generally stick to non processed and organic foods
– obviously no sweat drinks like fruit juice, coke etc. and NO alcohol…..
– and most important: never forbid yourself anything, if you crave pasta or bread or pommes by all means have it. every once in a while this doesn’t hurt, except that once you started to eat clean this stuff will anyway not sit so well with you…
– 2-3 intensive strengths/body weight training, focusing on building muscle with full body exercises
– 2 hours of sweating your prayers per weeks, i.e. 5 Rhythms dancing
– 2x 20m interval training on the home trainer

easy, isn’t it? Oh wow I am SO proud of myself!!!! I feel so much better 😀 Now I just have to work on my condition…… the Himalayas are waiting 😉

So…

All in all I am really happy with my progress.  This is a good base for future adventures. Because really one thing I have learned: personal change cannot be forced or delegated. It will happen when it happens and is initiated by love and understanding not willpower, at least not if it is to last sustainably. And it is really impossible to change everything at once, like giving up smoking drinking chocolate junk food etc. AND starting to exercise write save etc. all at the same time? Come on this feels like an illusion it is too much the stone weights too heavy to carry and sooner or later one lets it fall. Considering this I am very glad I managed now to go through with at least some things as for sure I was ready to (try to) change everything at once last year. Something’s certainly changed within me 😉 Step by step change happens and when the way gets stony I just put on some good shoes!

Happy changing & Happy enjoying the fruits of it
Love
YMT

3 Responses to “the story of my life”

  1. Tina January 29, 2012 at 5:20 PM #

    my dearest friend – you are DANCER and a WRITER ! I love it and I can´t believe that I´m one of two readers ? I hope this was a joke ? If not – only a matter of time – anyway great ! Big Hug Tins.

  2. yaga April 18, 2012 at 11:59 PM #

    Wow, that’s a lot of changes, and so much great progress going on! it’s always inspiring to see other souls on the way!! ❤

  3. soulnature April 23, 2012 at 7:52 PM #

    thanks dears, that’s the movement medicine in motion 😉
    Have you recently appreciated yourselves for the changes you brought about in your life?

Tell Me what You think

